Download as PDF

Continent & Region

Asia, South Asia, Indian subcontinent

Tectonic plate

Indian Plate; is moving northeast at 5 cm/yr


68° 7′ and 97° 25′ east longitude


8° 4′ and 37° 6′ north latitude


3,287,263 km2, 7th in World Rank


1,210,193,422, 2nd in World Rank (2011 census)

No. of States


No. of UTs


Territorial Sea

12 nm (nautical miles)

Contiguous Zone

24 nm

National park


Wildlife sanctuaries


North-South extent

3,214 km

East-West extent

2,933 km

Land Frontiers

15,200 km

Highest point

Kanchenjunga: 8,586 m (28,169 ft)

Lowest point

Kuttanad, Kerala : −2.2 m (−7.2 ft)

Northern most point

Karakoram Pass, near the Siachen Glacier, Indian-administered Kashmir

Southern most point

Indira Point, Great Nicobar, Andaman & Nicobar Islands

Southern most point of India (Mainland)

Cape Comorin near Kanyakumari, Tamil Nadu

Eastern most point

Kibithu, Arunachal Pradesh

Western most point

Guhar Moti in Kutch, Gujarat

Coastline length

7,517 km ; 5,423 km belong to peninsular India and 2,094 km to the Andaman, Nicobar, and Lakshadweep island chains.

Land boundaries

13,888 km

Border Countries

Afghanistan and Pakistan to the north-west;

China, Bhutan and Nepal to the north;

Myanmar to the east; and Bangladesh to the east of West Bengal.

Sri Lanka is separated from India in the south by a narrow channel of sea, formed by Palk Strait and the Gulf of Mannar.


The mainland comprises of four regions, namely the great mountain zone, plains of the Ganga and the Indus, the desert region, and the southern peninsula.

Longest River

The Ganges or Ganga (Length 2,525 km)

Largest Lake

Chilika Lake, Odisha (Length 64.3 km)

Largest than other countries

4 times largest than Pakistan

12 times larger than UK

8 times larger than Japan

State with maximum borders states

Uttar Pradesh border maximum number of states : 8 (Uttarakhand, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand and Bihar)

Tropic of Cancer passes through

8 states: Gujarat, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, West Bengal, Tripura and Mizoram.




Border Countries with Indian States


Indian States situated on the border


Jammu and Kashmir


West Bengal, Mizoram, Meghalaya, Tripura and Assam


West Bengal, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh and Assam


Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Sikkim & Arunachal Pradesh


Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur and Mizoram


Bihar, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Sikkim and West Bengal


Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan and Gujrat